Images 2022 08 27t204542.757

Full List Of Universities That Are Not Under ASUU In Nigeria (2024)

Universities That Are Not Under ASUU In Nigeria (2024)


The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) is an important body that represents the interests of lecturers and academics in Nigeria.

However, it is important to note that not all universities in the country are under the ASUU.

There are several universities that are not affiliated to ASUU and have their own set of rules and procedures.

In this blog post, we will present a list of universities that are not under the ASUU.


Here Are The Universities That Are Not Under ASUU:

Recognized Private Universities That Are Not Under ASUU:

There are currently 147 recognized private universities in Nigeria, accredited by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

Here’s a list of some notable ones:


  • Covenant University
  • Afe Babalola University
  • Babcock University
  • Godfrey Okoye University
  • Nile University of Nigeria


  • American University of Nigeria
  • Ajayi Crowther University
  • Benson Idahosa University
  • Bowen University
  • Bells University of Technology
  • Caritas University
  • Igbinedion University
  • Madonna University
  • Pan-Atlantic University
  • Landmark University
  • Samuel Adegboyega University
  • Newgate University
  • Gerar University of Medical Science

Recognized Foreign Universities in Nigeria That Are Not Under ASUU:

While foreign universities don’t operate directly within Nigeria, some have programs or partnerships with Nigerian institutions. These foreign universities must also be accredited by the NUC to be recognized in Nigeria.

  • West African Union University (WAUU) – Benin Republic
  • Institut Superieure de Management et de Technologies (ISMT) University – Benin Republic
  • ISM Adonai University Calavi – Benin Republic
  • Edexcel University Benin Republic
  • Houdegbe North American University Benin (HNAUB)
Get the scoop from us
You May Also Like